Hello, July.

It’s July 1, and do you know what that means?  Only 35 more months until I leave this place!  I wish Summer could be the way it was when I was a kid- weeks of camping in the Sierra Nevadas, laying on the beach basking in the sun, Otter Pops in the front yard with my sisters… Now it’s just not as fun.  I’ve been trying to figure out fun things to do around here to keep the kids happy, but when the weather is topping 110 degrees daily, going outside is not an option.  I’ve also discovered that the farmers down here burn their crops when they are done harvesting.  The smoke in the air, along with God knows what else, is stifling and Icant stand to take the kids out in it.  Its disgusting, really.  But I digress.  It’s a new month!  And it’s also my friend Preita’s birthday and she’s having  a contest over at her blog to celebrate!  So click the linky and go wish her a happy birthday and maybe win some of her beautiful patterns in return! 

Have a great month, all!

2 thoughts on “Hello, July.

  1. I was just being nosey on ravelry for a low yardage lace-like project. I came across your Ventura. A few years back, I spent several days there with my parents and kids. While my Dad explored the Channel Islands, my mom and I took the kids to the beach for a picnic and some needed r&r.(We had been on the road for a long time). For my kids, growing up in Pennsylvania, the Pacific ocean held so many romantic notions. Just sitting there on the beach watching them play, I realized how very blessed I am. It took no toys, no electronics, no amusement park; just beauty, nature and their playful nature. I cherish that day. I am excited to make this project to capture a bit of it. The kids are growing up fast,and those days of giggling together are surely numbered as my oldest enters his senior year this fall. I hope my shawl can wrap me in their childhood a bit longer than they will let me. Thanks for your beautiful words and project!
    Donna Marie Adamson
    dndadamson@ptd.net

Leave a Reply

