Celebrating Freedom

Im a little late, but Happy Birthday, America!  To celebrate, I spent my Holiday weekend celebrating freedom in all sorts of different ways:

We celebrated our freedom to grill delicious food:

YUM!  Hubs grilled up some delicious marinated steaks and spicy sausages and some pineapple.  I had to talk him out of getting sparklers for the kids, mostly due to the fact that this area is so arid and dry.  Everything here is a huge fire hazard and thats a very scary thought. 

On Sunday, I celebrated my freedom to bake sweet treats:


Second only to cupcakes, my most favorite sweet treat to make for my family are my S’mores cookies.  Baked using the Tollhouse Chocolate Chunk cookies recipe as a template, I bake the cookies for 9 minutes, pull them out of the oven, add 4-5 mini marshmallows to the tops of each cookie, and continue to bake them for another 3 minutes.  The texture of the marshmallows once the cookies have cooled is DIVINE.  I absolutely love them.

And finally today, I am celebrating my freedom to dye my own yarn:

So Happy birthday, America!  And THANK YOU to all of the Men and Women who have fought to keep America safe and free.

Leave a Reply

