Design (on two fronts)

Well howdy there.  Hope your Wednesday has been a super one so far- I know mine has been rather lackluster, but one can at least hope that yours has been wonderful, right?

While trying desperately to keep a rather monumental secret from you all, I have also been suffering from a lack of creative influence.  For a girl that finds inspiration and creative energy in the sea, living 2 hours from one has certainly taken its toll on my creative inspiration.  But last night, something happened.  I was wrist deep in shampoo bubbles and getting down to The Black Keys on Pandora when inspiration finally struck- and Lord did it hit hard!  I jumped out of the shower, grabbed my sketch pad, and stubbed my toe looking for a pencil.  After searching for 5 minutes, I conceded to the fates that my husbands construction-grade pencil was the one to use as it was the only one that I could find.  I was sketching and scribbling notes so fast that I’m not even sure that I will be able to read them when the time comes to use them.  Yikes.

IMAG0789

It’s not to say that I have nothing else going on knit-wise.  Because I tooooootally do.  I’ve got a design in testing right now- the first design for the upcoming collection, actually!  I have another design I am finishing up the sample for; I’ve just been incredibly lazy on finishing it up.   Here is a sneak peek of that one.  I’m using The Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering in an incredibly amazing color called “Hope is a good thing” and is inspired by one of my all time favorite movies ever- The Shawshank Redemption.

So what else… oh yes!  The second design front.  So last year we bought a house.  It’s one of those super nice houses in those super nice neighborhoods that pop up super quick in suburban areas- you know what I mean?  The only problem is that 6 years after it was quickly built, it’s not so nice.  And the neighborhood is slightly shitty, in that people assume that people that live here actually have money and things nice enough to steal.  Y’know?  One of those houses.  Plus, it’s in a town that I loathe and a state that I’ve hated since we lived here last time.  But I digress.  So we bought this house.  And it’s nice enough.  But thanks to freaking pinterest, I’ve suddenly taken to the idea that I could actually re-decorate a room on a dime.  Well, turns out that I can’t.  Because I’m the girl that can’t stay out of Target and it’s clearance sections.  But I can re-decorate a room on a, um, $20?  This is my kids’ bathroom:

IMAG0791

IMAG0792

It’s not a bad bathroom- it’s got your standard toilet, full bath, and a sink.  But I think I can do better.  That towel rack is on it’s way out, and there will be some fun art work on the walls.  I will probably change out that shower curtain as well.  We’ll see!

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

