Happy Monday, Darlings!

I hope that all of you Mothers out there had a wonderful Mothers Day yesterday!  Mine was great- although my Husband was rather peeved that I woke up before everyone and cooked my own breakfast.  What can I say?  I was hungry!  I did find it rather funny though, that while I was downstairs making breakfast his alarm went off twice before he actually came downstairs.  We spent the morning here at home listening to my sweet babies find new and funnier ways to wish me a Happy Mothers day.  Around lunch time we headed off to Fredericksburg to do some Costco shopping, then had lunch at Sonic.  Did you know that they now offer a Peanut Butter Bacon shake?!  It sure doesn’t sound very appetizing, but apparently it’s pretty popular!  I was incredibly excited that they had brought back my all time favorite- the Coconut Cream Pie shake!  Sadly though, I was not about to order that with my burger and tots and promised myself that I would make it back down there before they take if off the menu again.  Seriously- if you have the chance to try it- TRY IT!  It’s delicious!!!  We then headed back home up US-1 which is a beautiful drive from Fredericksburg to our town, and sure beat the parking lot which was I-95!  I settled in to bake some cupcakes while Hubs took the kids outside to play.  A few hours later, the neighborhood kids were surprising us parents with a scooter and bike extravaganza show, complete with a VIP standing area for Moms only!  It was so sweet, and they really worked hard to impress us with their mad scooter skills!  We parents feasted on cupcakes while each of us expressing our relief and appreciation that our children were finally starting to develop friendships with good kids.  Not to say that my kids hadn’t met some pretty great kids prior to this, but having been military and moved so much, they hadn’t really had a chance to cultivate meaningful relationships with friends.  Anyhow, look what I found yesterday afternoon:

IMG_20130512_182156

Mother’s Day roses!  Either these roses are gluttons for punishment, or they really are just hardy.  Turns out that I didn’t kill them last summer, and my pruning them back in winter was successful!  Because they came back with vengeance!  They are vibrant pink and so very fragrant.  I’m not really much of a flowers girl, but these are so lovely.  There is a second rose bush in our backyard across from this one which has white roses and didn’t bloom too much by the time we moved in last summer.  I pruned that one only slightly as it didn’t need to much.  It still hasn’t bloomed yet and I’m wondering if it even will.  We’ll see!  Hopefully we get the chance to work on our backyard before the heat gets too bad.  This photo is the area under our deck- my kids call it their “Secret Garden” and I suppose it does have an element of mystery and wild growth to it-

IMAG0817

I’d love to be able to do something with the area, I just don’t know what to do with it, really.  As you can see, grass doesn’t even really have the ability to grow down there, though weeds sure seem to flourish.  Hopefully we can come up with something though!

In just a few weeks I will finally be able to share some good news with you all!  I had the opportunity this morning to catch a glimpse of what’s to come, and I can’t even tell you how thrilled and excited that I am!!!  I hope that you will all be equally excited!

Have a great week, everyone!

One thought on “Happy Monday, Darlings!

  1. Pingback: Finally Friday | Must.Knit.Faster

Leave a Reply

