Dolphins and Derbies

A few Summers ago, our family went to Sea World in San Diego.  It was great, we had a blast, and my darling daughter Lola received a little stuffed dolphin named Surf from her Papa as a souvenir.  To this day, she has to have it every night when she goes to bed, and the minute she comes home from school, she runs upstairs to get him for a wee snuggle.  It’s adorable, really.  So last week, she was having a particularly difficult time saying good bye to him before going to school.  I don’t know why, but she truly was struggling.  So I offered up my services as a dolphin nanny for the day, making Lola pretty happy.  Anything for my babies.  Surf and I had quite the day, and I took a series of photos from our adventures to show Lola that Surf was well taken care of and that he had a great day.  She loved it.  Probably the sweetest picture (though I am biased) is the one I took in which it looks as though Surf were knitting.

surfyknits

This past weekend was my sons Cubmobile Derby.  For those of you not familiar, the different Dens build what is known as a “cub mobile” out of 2×4’s.  The put it on wheels and create some sort of steering mechanism, slap on a belt for safety purposes, and pull them up a hill to see who’s pummels fastest down the hill.  Sounds fun, right?  Except the church where our boys meet doesn’t have any hills.  So our leadership build some not-so-steep ramps with drop gates and let the boys race them down the ramps into a sectioned off part of the parking lot.  The off and on rain did not damped the boys’ spirits at all, and they all seemed to have a great time.  My darling Husband braved the rain and let me use his rain jacket- who says chivalry is dead?!

derby

This is the last week of school for my babies, so I hope I will find the time to continue blogging!  I’m putting the finishing details on the upcoming collection, as well!  I plan to release the patterns around mid- August to celebrate my birthday.  I am debating releasing them all at once versus one per week.  What do you think?  Do you have a preference when it comes to buying patterns?

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

