Oh the Weather Outside is Frightful…

… but the yarn is so delightful!

Today is the first snow day for the 2013-2014 school year!  Yesterday our northern Virginia town was hit with about 2″ of snow and a subsequent ice storm, and since we don’t live in a snow-heavy place, it’s a pretty big thing.  And we have a forecast of 2-4″ of more snow tomorrow!  Yikes!  Time to buy a snow shovel and start working these arms!

The woods behind our house, covered in ice

The woods behind our house, covered in ice

IMAG1690

The bush in front of our front porch

And since my 2 younger children are both sick- though the older of the 2 is recovering- I’ve had to resist the urge to run out and play, I mean, LET MY KIDS run out and play in the snow.  Yeah, that’s what I meant…  So we’re all stuck in the house, my kids are busying themselves with important things (Little Big Planet) and I’ve decided that today is a perfect day to finally wind the yarn for my upcoming Spring & Summer designs.

Hello, Beautiful!

Hello, Beautiful!

These beauties are from the incredibly generous Sarah at Cephalopod Yarns.  I am forever humbled when my yarn support requests are accepted- for someone to have such faith in me as an indie designer is probably one of the best feelings that a designer can have, and when that support comes from such an incredible company it amplifies the experience 100 fold.  And you guys, this yarn is amazing.  It is 100% super wash Merino (not that I would ever have the gall to put merino wool in the washing machine, but it’s nice to know that the option is there), and it is so buttery soft.  The colors are so saturated and vibrant.  Dark Waters is easily my new favorite color.  I want to knit a sweater for myself in this base and in this color.  I can’t wait to show you all what these 3 colors are to become!!!

IMAG1703

Leave a Reply

