New Pattern: Laurel

Oh my darlings, this cardigan has been a long time coming.  For the past few years I’ve dreamed of designing a cardigan.  I imagined the stitches that I would use, I waffled between cables large and small, and I had midnight arguments with myself over button bands.  Which yarn could best showcase my work?  What about drape and ease?  What about no button band at all?  Well my darlings, let me tell you: this has been a labor of love, and I could not be any prouder to finally be able to share it with the world.  Introducing Laurel:

Laurel is the quintessential cardigan.  Knit seamlessly from the bottom up, with raglan sleeves that are knit flat and seamed to the body, Laurel is perfect for snuggling into.  This cardigan has no waist shaping, instead it allows a bold back cable and seed stitch to give the fabric just the right amount of pull.  The sleeves are knit extra long to allow you to roll them at the cuff.  The garter stitch collar is picked up along the edges of the front and neck.

This gorgeous sample was knit using Shalimar Yarns Equus in the colorway Sonoma.  Oh dudes, this yarn is a dream.  An absolute dream.  It is 100% Merino wool, and the drape at gauge for this pattern is incredible.  The color is so vibrant and saturated.  I could live in this sweater.  I have for the past several days.  Shhhh… let’s keep that between us, yes?

Laurel is available now on Ravelry here for $6.  Use code merryandbright at checkout to get 20% off through the month of December!

One thought on “New Pattern: Laurel

  1. Oh baby I am so very proud of you. And to be able to say that you are my daughter is incredible!!!! I love you very much Rebecca!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

