Rebecca in Yellow.

I’ve never been much of a yellow person.  But when I first saw photos of Madelinetosh Tosh dk in Candlewick, I fell in love.  Well, maybe it was lust.  Whatever you are in that makes you drop alot of money on freaking yarn- well, thats what I was in.  I bought 6 skeins in dk and a skein in Pashmina from the ever amazing Eat.Sleep.Knit.  I had no idea what this yarn would be knit into, but as referenced in a recent post, that happens to me alot.  But as I bought this yarn in 2010, prior to my promise to myself, Im not too concerned, mostly because I’ve finally decided what it will be.  My lovely Madelinetosh Tosh dk in Candlewick will become an Audrey in Unst cardigan.  I even have a plan for this cardigan.  You see, this is my cardigan for my Husbands deployment home coming.  My yellow ribbon.

So Hubs will be coming home soon.  Well, not SOON soon, but relatively soon.  Soon enough to make me excited enough to look at dresses for homecoming.  Deployment homecomings are strange, emotional events.  So much excitement in the air, so many nervous smiles and anxious, jittery family members waiting together on a flight line or pier or grinder.  I vividly remember last deployments homecoming.  Dad came with me and the kids to welcome D home.  We got to the flight line early, as arrival times can be fickle.  As the crowd of family members grow, the energy becomes erratic.  Is that the plane?  Could that one over there be it?  Criminey, could that chicks dress be any shorter?  Did I really need to choose these heels over sensible flats?  Dad saw the plane first- pointing it out, telling me “I think this one is it!”  We all watched the plane fly over us, then bank back around towards us.  We watched the plane land, and we erupted into an ocean of applause and cheers, grateful that our men and women were now safely on the ground.  As the plane taxied around to park directly in front of us, we readied ourselves to welcome them home.  I remember my Husband stepping off the plane with a beaming grin, equally grateful to be home.  There really is nothing better.  Im extremely anxious to be able to experience it again, and with luck, for the last time in a long time. 

And the dress?  Oh yes… You can find it here!  I think the yellow cardigan will look great with the dress. 

Have a great weekend everyone!

3 thoughts on “Rebecca in Yellow.

Leave a comment